Dhaka, Banglaesh || Wednesday, 23 October 2019 || 8 Kartik 1426
Headline: ■ BCB boss smells 'conspiracy' in players’ strike ■ EU sick of Brexit, but likely to grant an extension ■ Public gathering banned in Bhola after clashes ■ 4 killed in police-villagers clash in Bhola ■ Omar Faruk expelled from Jubo League ■ Football is more popular than cricket in Bangladesh ■ Ctg-Chennai-Europe shipping route opens in Nov ■ Mexico flies 300 Indian migrants to New Delhi ■ DSCC councillor Sayed removed from his post ■ 2 cases against Indian fisherman for illegal entry ■ 2 Rohingyas among 4 killed in ‘gunfights’ ■ AL affiliated bodies to see massive leadership change
Chhatra Dal gets new central leadership
Deshsangbad, Dhaka
Published : Thursday, 19 September, 2019 at 12:33 PM, Update: 26.09.2019 8:01:29 PM

Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal, student wing of Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP), has elected Fazlur Rahman Khokon as its president and Iqbal Hossain Shamol as general secretary.

The result of the sixth council was declared early Thursday.

Members of Chhatra Dal cast their votes at the residence of the party's standing committee member Mirza Abbas amid power cuts in Dhaka’s Shahjahanpur to elect their new leaders after a long wait of 27 years.

Voting held amid power cuts

Council proceedings started around 8:40pm with 539 councilors of the student wing present.

Voting was conducted using transparent ballot boxes and a total of 481 votes were cast by 12am.

Khokon received 186 votes while his closest candidate Kazi Rawnakul Islam Srabon got 178 votes for the post of president.

For the general secretary post, Shamol got 139 votes, while his closest contender Zakirul Islam Zakir bagged 78 votes.

The council was scheduled to meet at BNP's Naya Paltan office at 8pm on Wednesday, but, absence of electricity forced the high command of the party to shift their venue to Mirza Abbas's residence.

Several councilors said BNP acting chairperson Tarique Rahman joined the council through a video call with Skype, firstly in Naya Paltan and then in Abbas’s house.

Khaleda Zia’s son Tarique, who is currently residing in London, also joined the party members through video call during the ballot counting and before the announcement of the result.

Although the council was scheduled to be held on September 14, a Dhaka court had issued a temporary injunction staying the national council two days before the schedule was announced for a second time.

The new leadership

Hailing from the birth place of part founder Major Ziaur Rahman, Bogra, President Khokon completed his graduation from Dhaka University and was a resident of the Zahurul Huq Hall.

He was admitted into the Sociology Department at the academic year of 2003-2004.

Khokon passed his Secondary School Certificate (SSC) exam from RDA Laboratory School in Bogra on 2001.

Newly elected General Secretary Iqbal Hossain Shamol is a native of Narsingdi district.

Shamol graduated from the Persian Language and Literature Department of Dhaka University and was a resident of the Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Hall.

He enrolled in the academic session of 2004-2005 at the university.

A council after 27 years

Chhatra Dal got its new leadership through the long-awaited sixth central council held after 27 years.

On June 3, BNP dissolved the Rajib-Akram committee by issuing a press release signed by its Joint Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi Ahmed.

On October 14, 2014, party Chairperson Khaleda Zia picked Chhatra Dal leader Rajib Ahsan as president and Mohammad Akramul Hasan as general secretary of the 201-member committee, which was later extended to 736 members.

Total of 10 central committee leaders were nominated since the last council, which was held in 1992. In the fifth council, Rizvi and Ilias Ali were elected president and general secretary of Chhatra Dal, respectively.

Tarique instructed BNP leaders from London to arrange and convene the council.


Latest News
Also >>
Most Read
We're in Facebook
Editor & Publisher
M. Hossain
Advisory Editor
Brig. Gen. Abdur Sabur Mia (Rtd.)

Tel : +88 02 48311101-2
Cell : +88 01713 601729, +88 01842 601729
Emai : [email protected]
Developed & Maintenance by i2soft