Dhaka, Banglaesh || Thursday, 13 May 2021 || 30 Boishakh 1428
Headline: ■ Mamunul among 17 Hefazat leaders sued for violence ■ Gas supply suspended in Narayanganj, Munshiganj ■ Shitalakkhya launch capsize, Death toll rises to 36 ■ Lockdown in Bangladesh unscientific, half-hearted ■ 6 of a Bangladeshi family found dead in Texas ■ Don't criticize HSC results unnecessarily ■ Shakib returns for WI Tests ■ Girls ahead of boys in securing GPA 5 ■ Disabled woman raped on moving train ■ 11,000 people register for Covid-19 vaccine ■ Trump was Russian asset ■ Don't repeat bad history of vaccine hoarding
Faridul new State Minister for Religious Affairs
Deshsangbad Desk
Published : Wednesday, 25 November, 2020 at 12:43 AM, Update: 09.01.2021 12:38:09 AM

Md Faridul Haque Khan

Md Faridul Haque Khan

The Awami League government on Tuesday filled up a vacancy in the cabinet by inducting a new face – Md Faridul Haque Khan, an MP from Jamalpur 2 constituency as the state minister for religious affairs.

President M Abdul Hamid administered the oath to the new office of the state minister for religious affairs, which earlier fell vacant after the death of Sheikh Md Abdullah.

The oath-taking ceremony took place at Bangabhaban’s Durbar Hall at 7pm with a limited number of people by maintaining social distance and wearing masks.

Cabinet Secretary Khandaker Anwarul Islam conducted the oath-taking ceremony, where only 13 guests were invited, said a source familiar to the process of the Presidential palace.

Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Haque, Home Minister Asaduzzaman Khan, Information Minister Dr Hasan Mahmud, lawmaker Rejwan Ahammad Taufiq and secretaries concerned to the Bangabhaban and other ministries concerned were present on the occasion.

Faridul Haque Khan was elected as an MP from Jamalpur-2 constituency in the ninth, 10th and 11th parliamentary elections from the Awami League ticket. Khan is the president of the Islampur upazila unit of Awami League.

After the swearing-in, he signed the oath of office and oath of secrecy as well.

On January 7 in 2019, Awami League President Sheikh Hasina was sworn in as Bangladesh prime minister, serving as the 11th prime minister; her third consecutive term.

Her government’s council of ministers includes 24 ministers, 19 state ministers and three deputy ministers.

This is her fourth term in office. With the tenure from 1996 to 2001 and three terms in a row since 2008, she heads for a record 20 years as the prime minister as well as the head of the government.


Latest News
Also >>
Most Read
We're in Facebook
Editor & Publisher
M. Hossain
Advisory Editor
Brig. Gen. Abdus Sabur Mia (Rtd.)

Tel : +88 02 48311101-2
Cell : +88 01713 601729, +88 01842 601729
Email : [email protected]
Developed & Maintenance by i2soft