Dhaka, Banglaesh || Wednesday, 21 April 2021 || 8 Boishakh 1428
Headline: ■ Mamunul among 17 Hefazat leaders sued for violence ■ Gas supply suspended in Narayanganj, Munshiganj ■ Shitalakkhya launch capsize, Death toll rises to 36 ■ Lockdown in Bangladesh unscientific, half-hearted ■ 6 of a Bangladeshi family found dead in Texas ■ Don't criticize HSC results unnecessarily ■ Shakib returns for WI Tests ■ Girls ahead of boys in securing GPA 5 ■ Disabled woman raped on moving train ■ 11,000 people register for Covid-19 vaccine ■ Trump was Russian asset ■ Don't repeat bad history of vaccine hoarding
Shakib returns for WI Tests
Deshsangbad Desk
Published : Sunday, 31 January, 2021 at 12:55 AM, Update: 31.01.2021 1:05:04 AM

Shakib al Hasan

Shakib al Hasan

Bangladesh Cricket Board Saturday named an 18-member national team squad for the two-match Test series against visitors West Indies. All-rounder Shakib al Hasan has been named in the squad, brushing off uncertainty over his availability due to injury.

Shakib had picked up a groin injury during the third and final ODI against the same opposition last week. A scan revealed no major damage as he was eventually included in the squad.

Shakib, completing a one-year ban, made an impressive return to the international scene finishing as the Man of the Series in the ODI series last week. The 33-year old will play his first Test since September 2019, the one-off Test at home against Afghanistan.

Top-order batsman Shadman Islam has also made a comeback to the national fold having missed out on Bangladesh's last Test, at home against Zimbabwe in February last year.

Middle-order batsman Yasir Ali and pace bowler Hasan Mahmud are the two uncapped players in the squad. The first Test will be played in Chittagong’s Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium from Wednesday. The second and final Test will be held at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka from February 11.

Bangladesh squad

Mominul Haque (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Shakib al Hasan, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Saif Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Shadman Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Jayed Chowdhury, Ebadat Hossain, Hasan Mahmud


Latest News
Also >>
Most Read
We're in Facebook
Editor & Publisher
M. Hossain
Advisory Editor
Brig. Gen. Abdus Sabur Mia (Rtd.)

Tel : +88 02 48311101-2
Cell : +88 01713 601729, +88 01842 601729
Email : [email protected]
Developed & Maintenance by i2soft